As a mum one of my biggest worries is posting pictures and videos of my baby online. I’m seriously concerned about paedophiles and corporates  using my pictures and videos for inappropriate behaviour and financial gain.

Are you aware for example that Facebook could sell your photos:

“For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License). This IP License ends when you delete your IP content or your account unless your content has been shared with others, and they have not deleted it.” http://www.facebook.com

And Instagram tried to introduce a policy where they had the rights to sell your photos to who ever they liked. Thankfully they backed down when users complained.

Regardless of this you can easily download any photos that your friends put up on Facebook which means they can do the same to you. A teacher friend of mine was so worried about people’s ability to download photos after attending a course on Facebook child protection that she refuses to post pictures of her son and asks that others don’t either. Since she told me this I’ve  deleted all the casual contacts in my account – just in case they are using them inappropriately- and keep my use of this site to personal only.

Even the pictures on my blog can be copied and used by others despite a copyright notice on my side panel. Will I really know if someone has a picture of my daughter on their home computer? Obviously I would never post pictures of her in the bath or a state of undress but my knowledge of  what paedophiles use is pretty limited and so I don’t know how to protect her and haven’t been able to find any advice to help me.

So bearing all of this in mind my questions to you are: What do other mummy bloggers think/do? Should I post pictures of my baby on my blog? Am I putting her at risk by doing so? What can I do to protect her from online paedophiles and those seeking commercial gain?

About sarajanebrown

I'm a former journalist with online and offline, internal and external PR and Comms experience in a variety of industries.

Leave a Reply

